[en] Architektur Galerie Berlin

Cover photo from “Building Images”

Building Images Arcaid Images Architectural Photography Awards 2016

The architectural photography award “Building Images” is issued annually by the London photo agency Arcaid Images. 20 works in four categories – Buildings in use, Sense of place, Exterieurs and Interieurs – were nominated to the shortlist and exhibited at Sto Werkstatt in London. The jury for 2016 included Kai-Uwe Bergmann (Partner at BIG), Emily Booth (The Architectural Review), Amy Croft (Curator Sto Werkstatt), Katy Harris (Communications Director, Foster & Partners), Ulrich Müller (Architektur Galerie Berlin) and the previous year’s winner, Fernando Guerra.

In addition to the award-winning work of Matt Emmett, the exhibition showcases photograps by Fabrice Fouillet, Adrien Barakat, Julien Lanoo, Laurian Ghinitoiu, Torsten Andreas Hoffmann, Nick Almasy, Iñigo Bujedo-Aguirre , Edmund Sumner, Sebastian Weiss, James Newton, Kilian O’Sullivan, Will Scott, Victor Romero, Paul Turang and Mark Wohlrab. They show the broad spectrum covered by architectural photography today, which not only focuses on the architectural object, but increasingly the spatial and social context as well.

This year, the exhibition will be presented for the first time in Germany. In the closing gallery talk, gallery director Ulrich Müller will speak with architect Bernd Bess, photographer Jan Bitter, curator Chrstina Gräwe and journalist Florian Heilmeyer about the relevance of contemporary architecture photography and who owns photographs in the age of new media.

Welcome:
Ulrich Müller (Director Architektur Galerie Berlin)
Prof. Jan R. Krause (Head of Strategic Marketing Sto)
Lynne Bryant (Director Arcaid Images)

Introduction:
Nils Ballhausen (Journalist)

Gallery talk: April 19, 2017, 7 pm
Ulrich Müller in Konversation with Bernd Bess (Architect), Jan Bitter (Photographer), Christina Gräwe (Curator) and Florian Heilmeyer (Journalist)

Toggle additional information
,
,
,
,

Architektur Galerie Berlin

Vorschaubild zu „Building Images“

Matt Emmett: Covered Reservoir (2014)

Building Images Arcaid Images Architectural Photography Awards 2016

Der Architekturfotografiepreis „Building Images“ wird jährlich von der Londoner Fotoagentur Arcaid Images ausgelobt. 20 Arbeiten schaffen es in den vier Kategorien – Buildings in use, Sense of place, Exterieurs und Interieurs – auf die shortlist und werden anschließend in der Sto Werkstatt in London gezeigt. In der Jury für 2016 waren neben Kai-Uwe Bergmann (Partner BIG), Emily Booth (The Architectural Review), Amy Croft (Kurator Sto Werkstatt) auch Katy Harris (Communications Director, Foster & Partners) und Ulrich Müller (Architektur Galerie Berlin) sowie der Gewinner des letzten Jahres Fernando Guerra.

Neben der preisgekrönten Arbeit von Matt Emmett sind Fotografien von Fabrice Fouillet, Adrien Barakat, Julien Lanoo, Laurian Ghinitoiu, Torsten Andreas Hoffmann, Nick Almasy, Iñigo Bujedo-Aguirre, Edmund Sumner, Sebastian Weiss, James Newton, Kilian O’Sullivan, Will Scott, Victor Romero, Paul Turang und Mark Wohlrab zu sehen. Sie zeigen das breite Spektrum zeitgenössischer Architekturfotografie, das nicht nur das architektonische Objekt thematisiert, sondern zunehmend auch den räumlichen und sozialen Kontext.

Die Ausstellung ist zum ersten Mal in Deutschland zu sehen. Beim abschließenden Galeriegespräch wird Ulrich Müller mit dem Architekten Bernd Bess, dem Fotografen Jan Bitter, der Kuratorin Christina Gräwe und dem Journalisten Florian Heilmeyer unter anderem darüber diskutieren, was zeitgenössische Architekturfotografie bedeutet und wem die Fotos im Zeitalter der neuen Medien gehören.

Begrüßung:
Ulrich Müller (Direktor Architektur Galerie Berlin)
Prof. Jan R. Krause (Head of Strategic Marketing Sto)
Lynne Bryant (Direktor Arcaid Images)

Einführung:
Nils Ballhausen (Journalist)

Galeriegespräch: 19. April 2017, 19 Uhr
Ulrich Müller im Gespräch mit Bernd Bess (Architekt), Jan Bitter (Fotograf), Christina Gräwe (Kurator) und Florian Heilmeyer (Journalist)

Weitere Informationen ein/ausblenden
,
,
,
,